Key Dates

See below for key dates pertaining to the University of Kentucky Graduate School.  For additional key dates from the University of Kentucky Registrar, visit https://www.uky.edu/registrar/content/academic-calendar.  

 

2020 Summer Session Calendar

April 2020

  • April 1 - Wednesday - Last day for filing an application for May 2020 or an August 2020 undergraduate or graduate degree online in myUK
  • April 11 - Saturday - Deadline for applying for admission to the Graduate School for the 2020 Summer Session

May 2020

  • May 12 - Tuesday - First day of classes
  • May 25 - Monday - Memorial Day - Academic Holiday

June 2020

  • June 20 - Saturday – Last day for doctoral candidates for the August 2020 degree to submit a Notification of Intent to schedule a final exam
  • June 24 - Wednesday - Midterm of 2020 Summer Session

July 2020

  • July 3 - Friday - Independence Day - Academic Holiday
  • July 9 - Thursday - Last day candidates for an August 2020 degree can schedule a final examination in the Graduate School
  • July 23 - Thursday - Last day for candidates for an August degree to sit for the final examination in the Graduate School
  • July 24 - Friday - Deadline for applying for admission to the Graduate School for the 2020 Fall Semester
  • July 30 - Thursday – Last day for candidates for an August 2020 degree to submit thesis/dissertation (ETD) for format review to the Graduate School via UKnowledge

August 2020

  • August 6 - Thursday - Last day for candidates for an August 2020 degree to submit final revised thesis/dissertation (EDT) for acceptance by the Graduate School for those students who first submitted July 30
  • August 6 - Thursday - End of 2020 Summer Session

 

2020 Fall Session Calendar

February 2020

  • February 1 - Saturday -- Deadline for international applications to be submitted to the Graduate School for the 2020 Fall Semester

March 2020

  • March 15 - Sunday -- Deadline for international applications to be submitted to The Graduate School for the 2020 Fall Semester

May 2020

  • May 4-August 14 - Monday through Friday -- Registration for new post-baccalaureate students for the 2020 Fall Semester

July 2020

  • July 24 - Friday -- Deadline for applying for admission to the Graduate School for the 2020 Fall Semester

September 2020

  • September 10 - Sunday -- Last day for doctoral candidates for a December degree to submit a Notification of Intent to schedule a final examination in The Graduate School

November 2020

  • November 1 - Sunday -- Last day for filing an application for a December 2020 undergraduate or graduate degree online in myUK
  • November 3 - Tuesday -- Presidential Election -- Academic Holiday
  • November 12 - Thursday -- Last day candidates for a December 2020 degree can schedule a final examination in the Graduate School
  • November 19 - Thursday -- Last day candidates for a December 2020 degree can sit for a final examination
  • November 24 - Tuesday -- Last day of classes
  • November 25-28 - Wednesday through Saturday -- Thanksgiving -- Academic Holidays
  • November 30 - Monday -- Reading Day -- Classes do NOT meet
  • November 30 - Monday -- Deadline for applying for admission to the Graduate School for the 2021 Spring Semester

December 2020

  • December 4 - Friday -- Last day for candidates for a December 2020 degree to have thesis/dissertation (EDT) accepted by the Graduate School for those students who first submitted on November 24
  • December 4 - Friday -- End of 2020 Fall Semester

 

    2021 Spring Session Calendar

    August 2020

    • August 15, 2020 - Saturday -- Deadline for international applications to be submitted to the Graduate School for the 2021 Spring Semester

    January 2021

    • January 6-11 - Wednesday through Monday -- Registration for new program graduate students
    • January 7-11 - Thursday through Monday -- Registration for new post-baccalaureate students
    • January 13 - Wednesday -- First day of classes
    • January 18 - Monday -- Martin Luther King Birthday -- Academic Holiday

    February 2021

    • February 1 - Monday -- Deadline for international applications to be submitted to the Graduate School for the 2021 Fall Semester
    • February 20 - Saturday -- Last day for doctoral candidates for a May 2021 degree to submit a Notification of Intent to schedule a final examination in the Graduate School

    March 2021

    • March 8 - Monday -- Midterm of 2021 Spring Semester
    • March 15-20 - Monday through Saturday -- Spring Vacation -- Academic Holidays
    • March 20 - Saturday -- Last day for filing an application for a May 2021 undergraduate or graduate degree online in myUK

    April 2021

    • April 8 - Thursday -- Last day for candidates for a May 2021 degree to submit a request to schedule a final examination in the Graduate School
    • April 9 - Friday -- Deadline for applying for admission to the Graduate School for the 2021 Summer Session
    • April 22 - Thursday -- Last day for candidates for a May 2021 degree to sit for a final examination
    • April 30 - Friday -- Last day of classes
    • April 30 - Friday -- Last day candidates for May 2021 degree to submit thesis/dissertation for formal review to The Graduate School

    May 2021

    • May 3-7 - Monday through Friday -- Final Examinations
    • May 7 - Friday -- Last day for candidates for a May 2021 degree to submit final revised thesis/dissertation (EDT) for acceptance by the Graduate School for those students who first submitted April 30
    • May 7 - Friday -- End of 2021 Spring Semester
    • May 7 & 8 - Friday and Saturday -- Commencement -- www.uky.edu/commencement

     

    2021 Summer Session Calendar

    April 2021

    • April 10 - Saturday -- Deadline for applying for admission to the Graduate School for the 2021 Summer Session

    May 2021

    • May 11 - Tuesday -- First day of classes
    • May 31 - Monday -- Memorial Day -- Academic Holiday

    June 2021

    • June 1 - Tuesday -- Last day for filing an application for an August 2021 undergraduate or graduate degree online in myUK
    • June 2 - Wednesday -- Last day for doctoral candidates for the August 2021 degree to submit a Notification of Intent to schedule a final exam in the Graduate School
    • June 23 - Wednesday -- Midterm of 2021 Summer Session

    July 2021

    • July 5 - Monday -- Independence Day -- Academic Holiday
    • July 22 - Thursday -- Last day for candidates for an August degree to sit for the final examination in the Graduate School
    • July 23 - Friday -- Deadline for applying for admission to the Graduate School for the 2021 Fall Semester
    • July 29 - Thursday -- Last day for candidates for an August degree to submit thesis/dissertation for formal review to the Graduate School

    August 2021

    • August 5 - Thursday -- Last day for candidates for an August 2021 degree to submit final revised thesis/dissertation (EDT) for acceptance by the Graduate School for those students who first submitted July 29
    • August 5 - Thursday -- Final Examinations
    • August 5 - Thursday -- End of 2021 Summer Session